On Being Overwhelmed by One’s Own Soul

Being an artist is the most important aspect of my identity, but it’s also something I’m terrified of. Artists are crazy. Artists are freaks. People say they like artists, but they only like a token few of them, and even then, people don’t want to see the messy parts. People don’t want to see the experimental, the discordant, the political critiques of modern society. They don’t want the naked howling banshee art; people want artists to wear black clothes and have berets.

 
As much as I dreaded the art in my soul, I could never deny it. When I finally let myself create, I feel the Universe coursing through my veins. 

Leave a Reply

